learning to love your imperfect life

Imperfection

Romans 5:8

8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

I’m a very imperfect man loved and saved by a perfect Savior. I said it. I am imperfect. Seems obvious I know, but for the longest time I struggled admitting it. We live in a day and age where we see everyone’s best moments. What I mean is that on social media we are essentially looking at a bunch of human highlights reels. It’s something I have just scratched the surface of realizing. Every single instagram, tweet, snapchat, facebook post, it all is a compilation of our best moments. These social media pictures that get sent out are the prettiest and best looking pictures in the camera roll. The best moments of a relationship. The moments in our life that we feel best encapsulate our life as being a good one. No one posts the pictures where they look like they just rolled out of bed. The arguments, the fights in their relationship. They want everyone to think their life is perfect.

I will be the first to tell you that my life is not perfect.

I actually have come to grow a distaste for trying to convince everyone around me that my life is always so great. It’s been a long road. In fact, there are few people I’ve gotten to know well that don’t have a story of struggle and overcoming one thing or another. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, life is hard. There were points in high school where I fell to my knees and just prayed. I prayed for hours at a time sometimes. I wondered “why me?” more than I’d like to admit.

I was saved by my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ my senior year of high school. I had always grown up in faith and have had incredibly supportive parents who took me to church and showed me an amazing love. But I had never “bought in,” so to speak. It wasn’t until those nights of praying for hours upon hours that I found my faith. I had my faith that I always turned to but I still just didn’t completely love myself. I honestly didn’t completely love myself until very recently, to be completely honest. I compared myself to those around me still, wondering sometimes why they had what I didn’t. But, one day recently I saw the impact I made on others. I love bringing joy to others, making them smile, making them feel good. I’ve found my passion in that and if I can spread the great news by doing it, all the better. I saw that I found my happiness in making others happy, making others love their own life and see the goodness within. I see so many guys and girls walking around with a lack of passion for life and it breaks my heart. So many beautiful people, inside and out, that wish they had the “perfect life” that they see from everyone around them. No one has a perfect life. No one. But the great news is that everyone has a perfect Savior that loves them more than they could fathom. Everyone sins, in fact we’ve all been sinners since before we were even born. But the incredible news, the thing that still amazes me all the time, is that no matter how much I’ve messed up, no matter how many mistakes I’ve made, God called His only son to die on the cross for all of it. That is a miracle. That is beautiful.

Leave a comment