an open letter to the Christian girl in college who says she “hates guys” from a Christian guy in college

This is my message to the Christian girl who says she “hates guys” from a Christian man in college:

Over my freshman year in college, I heard so many of my friends who are girls claim that they “hate guys,” when talking about their boy troubles. “They just come off as so nice and you can never really tell what they want or what their motives are and they always just end up screwing me over. I hate boys.” “I’m just ready to find a husband at this point. I’m tired of this crap. Too bad there aren’t any guys in college who want the same thing as me at this point even.”

This is the point where I couldn’t stay quiet anymore.

In my short time in college, I’ve met more Christian men who want to pursue women with the right intentions than I have in my previous 18 years. Some struggling, some not. To be fair to the women, I’ve heard plenty of guys say the same phrase in reverse, “I hate girls.”

Being patient in finding your future spouse is one of the hardest things to do.

I get it.

But to the girl who says, “Where are all the chivalrous Christian men nowadays?” I just want to direct you to the big flashing arrows pointing down to ten of my closest friends who are incredible, witty, funny, and great Christian men that any girl would be lucky to meet. They’re just the tip of the iceberg. At Texas A&M, I live on a campus with about 25,000 guys roaming around, some pursuing Jesus, some not. I guarantee that out of that 25,000, there’s (at least) one Christian man, with the right intentions and goals in mind, who’s day would be more than made just to get the opportunity to take you on a date.

So, to the Christian college girl with all the right intentions who claims that she “hates guys,” even if you’re just saying it as a joke, don’t.

If you just came off a bad relationship and you aren’t ready to date again, don’t.

Be patient.

It’s one of the hardest things you can do in life, being patient.

Live your life and focus on yourself and being the best you and let the rest fall into place when it is supposed to.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

My only request is to not discourage the Godly man looking to pursue great girls like you because he thinks he doesn’t have a shot.

God has a plan to give you that man that you want to pursue so badly, just don’t write him off before he shows up at your doorstep.

Leave a Reply

