beauty in kindness

Kindness

Ephesians 4:31-32

31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.
“A year ago going into A&M I was more nervous than excited. I was nervous because I didn’t know if I’d be social enough or maybe cool enough to have friends. In high school I didn’t have too many friends because everybody I knew in one form or another turned their back on me. It’s been like that my whole life, my dad did it to me time after time, and my mom struggled to raise me. Stability has never been a thing for me. But then I get to A&M and I met you brother and it led me to other guys. Which is why I’m always reiterating how thankful I am for you. You’ve taught me what it’s like to have a family, to have a brotherhood, someone to look out for you and care for you. You’ve given me stability in friendship. We aren’t even friends, we’re brothers.”
A text from one of my best friends a couple days ago.
I almost didn’t know how to respond. He poured out his heart to me and told me how much I mean to him. I didn’t even realize I had that impact on him. In fact, I almost felt guilty. One of the single most influential men in my life just told me that I had this unfathomable impact on him.
This man is one of the kindest guys, if not the kindest guy I have ever met. He consistently shows grace and compassion to everyone around him, even when they don’t deserve it.
Kind.
This word gets thrown around a fair amount but I had never really thought about it’s deeper meaning until the other day. People frequently use it when someone compliments them or gives them a gift saying, “Oh you’re so kind!” or something close to it.
I love this word.
To me, when I think of a kind person, I think of the people in my life who wake up every morning and choose joy. There are so many of them too. Choosing joy every single day is a hard thing to do. You truly have to wake up and thank God for giving you another day and singlehanded make the decision that you are going to go out into the world and be the best person you can be. I haven’t always been the best with this. I struggled with it throughout middle and high school a ton. It’s so easy to let the day drag on and stay in your own bubble and mind your own business. However, once I got to college especially, I saw so many selfless, kind people that our world has.
Beyond my friends (shoutout) that have shown me unbelievable amounts of grace, compassion, and patience, when I think of kindness I get brought back to a moment at the TAMU Rec Center at the very end of my freshman year. I had used all of my dining dollars for the year and was about to pay for a smoothie with my debit card and a girl behind me saw this and went up to me and offered to buy it for me using the extra dining dollars she had left. She went out of her way to be kind. She didn’t have to do it. She easily could have gone on with her day and not thought twice about it but she didn’t, and it was such a small gesture, but, at the time it meant the world.
My encouragement to anyone who is reading this is to choose that joy every morning. Life is a gift in itself and people say it all the time, but it is too short to not love this life day in and day out. Go out and be the kind person you appreciate having in your life. If you like somebody’s outfit or style, tell them. It’ll make their day, I promise. If there is a certain quality you see in your friend that you love, tell them. Be kind, be compassionate, forgive easily, be slow to anger. It’s hard, I realize that. But when it happens, there are few things as beautiful.
Leave a Reply

